Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Powdercoating spoke wheels

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2007, 12:46 PM
WARG
Elite HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Powdercoating spoke wheels

I want to get my rings and hubs powdercoated in the near future andI am not sure what the best coarse of action is.

Option 1: Takethe wheels off my self, then take them toa shop to have the tirestaken off and thebearings taken out? Then my bike will be on the lift for an extended period of time and then there is the issue of getting the rear tire back onadjusting belt tension, getting brake calipers back on etc.(these are things I have no experience with)

Option 2: I could take my bike to the local HD dealer and they can disassemble, send the wheels to powdercoat, and reassemble, but I will be paying a premium for everything.

Option 3: By some aftermarket wheels already powdercoated and justtake the bike in and have the switch made. (probably the easiest, butmaybe notthe cheapest, I would prefer 80 spoke over the stock 40 but this is not a must)

Any other suggestions or opinions on what the best option would be.

Also, should I do just rims and hubs or spokes as well.

WARG

Old 06-11-2007, 01:56 PM
jchildress21
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Powdercoating spoke wheels

There is one thing you've left out of your plan. You're going to have just the rims and hubs coated right? They must be disassembled in order to do it. Who's going to unlace and relace, then true your wheels? If you've not got much experience in the basics of belt adjustments, etc., you definately don't want to try and lace a set of wheels. It's not as easy as some would think. You don't want the spokes powdercoated do you? You might be better off, buying a set of wheels already done, and selling the ones you currently have. Just a thought.
Joey

Old 06-11-2007, 02:01 PM
WARG