Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Whoa! new laws on bike sounds, dont sound good!

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2007 | 10:26 PM
tatersalad
|
Cruiser
Default Whoa! new laws on bike sounds, dont sound good!

what to do if they out law loud muffs everywhere like that have done recently in CO? My bike came with vance and hines and no oem. (it was a dealer demo). Will I get screwed? How much is a oem HD softail muffler?

Old 06-07-2007 | 10:34 PM
CNC WHEEL GUY
Road Warrior
Default RE: Whoa! new laws on bike sounds, dont sound good!

ORIGINAL: tatersalad

what to do if they out law loud muffs everywhere like that have done recently in CO? My bike came with vance and hines and no oem. (it was a dealer demo). Will I get screwed? How much is a oem HD softail muffler?
shop ebay. some people sell'em cheap.

Old 06-07-2007 | 11:13 PM
hdsd05
Advanced

The way I understand, I'm no lawyer, if you have baffles your ok. Not sure though. I've been watching this all week and that's the way I see it. Again, I'm no lawyer. Also watch MN as thry're trying some stuff up there. My best advice, if you travel don't be dumb. Ride softly through towns and open it up on the highway. I've got V & H Longshots on my '05 Deluxe and I don't wake up the neighborhood when I leave for work in the mornings. Just be cool and you should be o.k.

Old 06-07-2007 | 11:46 PM
CANTDR55
Tourer

I had one incident recently here in NY. I was riding up to Marcus dairy in Conn. a few weeks ago. I was part of a 'safety" check point ( MORE LIKE BUST ***** AND MAKE MONEY FOR THE STATE check points) at the boarder of NY and CT. The cop started giving me the biz about loud pipes. I have V&S straight shots with the baffles in. I'm also a keeping it very quiet and respectful while going through the small towns on back roads etc.

Since the guy started out with attitude