Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2010 fatboy lo, abs light on after bleeding front brake

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2017, 02:57 PM
Manvsdirt
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2010 fatboy lo, abs light on after bleeding front brake

ABS light is on after bleeding front brake. I had no front brake (lever went to the handlebar) so I bled the system. I now have a perfectly good front brake but the ABS light is on. What I don't understand is the hydraulic line only runs from the front brake master cylinder to the front brake caliper. There is no ABS device in between? Nor are there any wires or sensors going to the front caliper? Any thoughts or insights? I've been a dirtbike mechanic for many years. This is the first Harley I've ever worked on.

Old 04-06-2017, 11:04 PM
hog-doc
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 53 Likes on 51 Posts

If you dont have a wire coming from the wheel spacer on the left side and a pump between the front down tubes, then you dont have abs. Was your speedo changed from another bike that had abs? Simply bleeding the brakes will not cause the abs light to come on!

Old 04-07-2017, 10:49 AM
Manvsdirt
3rd Gear

There's no wires and no hydraulic lines going to the ABS system from the front brake. I believe the rear is going to an ABS valving system. Is it possible to have only rear abs? I know that sounds like a dumb question given it would only be serving one wheel? I've just never worked on a bike with ABS.

Old 04-07-2017, 11:53 AM
blackxpress
Road Master
Received 492 Likes on 241 Posts