Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

re-map on Slim S?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2016, 05:25 PM
durtyburt
Tourer
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Default re-map on Slim S?

Is it necessary to have a Slim S re-mapped if adding V&H slip on mufflers? I have heard yes & no from 2 separate dealers.

Old 06-03-2016, 06:32 PM
Axis39
Road Captain
Received 56 Likes on 47 Posts

Necessary?

Take what I am about to say from a guy who knows not so much about EFI bikes. I am just now learning about the two I recently bought. I've been running carved bikes for 30+ years and did a lotta hot rodding as a kid. But, I am OCD as all gt out and have been reading a lot about tuning and EFI.

I bought my wife a Sportster a few weeks ago. It's got about 1800 miles... It's got the stock exhaust and stock air cleaner. The header pipes are blueing. That tells me that its running lean for the factory, with factory accouterments... It also tells me I should probably pick up a a tuner for it pretty soon.

I also recently picked up a Slim. It had a high flow air cleaner and an free flowing exhaust... and a lot of pop and crack on decel. Plus, the pipes are really quite blued. I don't think he had it tuned. One of the very firs things I did was buy myself a V&H FP3 and been really happy with that decision. It really woke up the bike.

A lotta guys say you can get away with exhaust changes, the O2 sensors will adjust accordingly. I would probably agree that it will adjust and run just as well as it did stock... But, why not take a few extra bucks and make it run better? I dunno.... Just makes sense to me.

Old 06-03-2016, 06:45 PM
mo cajun
Road Captain
Received 134 Likes on 83 Posts

Get it mapped or purchase a after market tuner

Old 06-03-2016, 08:03 PM
matte
Stellar HDF Member
Received 824 Likes on 451 Posts