Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help w/negotiations?

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2016 | 06:48 PM
Drodrigueznyc
|
Tourer
Default help w/negotiations?

I'm looking to purchase a new BO this weekend. will be trading in another cruiser but aside from that deal, is HD negotiable in their purchase price? has anyone really beat them down on price and options or are we expected to pay MSRP? (I don't think I have paid MSRP for any vehicle in my entire life)

I know everything in life is negotiable but really, how flexible are these guys? What type of discount (below MSRP) can I push hard for? what is reasonable?

Will I be able to get a new 2016 BO for under MSRP, before options like exhaust, alarm, and air filter? what about those options, can I negotiate those prices as well?

obviously this is my first time purchasing a new Harley. My sportster was purchased used locally.

I welcome all comments.. thanks!

Old 04-16-2016 | 07:00 PM
LA_Dog
Outstanding HDF Member

Every dealer is different in what they can and can't do. buying a bike right at riding season is the worst time to try and bargain. There is not a large profit margin in new bike sales.

Only thing I can suggest to keep odds in your favor is do not mention your trade-in until AFTER you have negotiated best price on the new bike, any extras, etc. if they ask you about any trade-ins at first say no. if they ask you how you will be paying just say cash + finance, whatever your plan (think of your hidden trade in as your "cash" for this initial stage of discussion).