Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone try a Walmart Battery?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2016, 03:39 PM
Joe_G
Stellar HDF Member
Received 101 Likes on 82 Posts
Default Anyone try a Walmart Battery?

My battery is starting to show weakness despite being on the trickle all the time when I'm not riding. It was supposedly new from the prior owner in 1/14 so it's two years old.

Softails take HD part number 65989-97C for $129, one year warranty. The battery is 6.9"x3.4"x6.1", 330 cca from the website.

This translates to "X20L" part numbers if you search.

I have always had very good luck with Walmart batteries, I've been running them for 20+ years. I think they are made by Johnson Controls. They have part number ES20LBS that is the exact size we need, for $75.

Has anyone tried the Walmart battery? $55 savings could go to more chrome...

Appreciate any advice on the Walmart battery or other batteries folks have had good luck with.

Edit
My 2.5 year old Harley Battery that is always on the trickle charge failed me. Luckily in my garage. I ended up buying a Advanced Auto battery with a great 40% discount thanks to USCanuck below. See the code in this thread. I thought it was going to have the good terminals like the HD battery but it doesn't, It has the lousy terminals with a separate nut that will fall out if you are not careful. HD has a nice terminal but it's not worth double the price to me. With the discount the Advanced Auto is about the same price as Walmart with a similar 90 day warranty.

Last edited by Joe_G; 02-09-2016 at 11:14 AM.
Old 02-02-2016, 04:05 PM
Bluraven
Grand HDF Member
Received 786 Likes on 473 Posts

I haven't tried a Walmart motorcycle battery but I've always run them in my autos and they seem to last 3-4 years but I've had a few only last less than a year.