Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Guess I'm just too Old. CARBS

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2014 | 09:15 PM
TSheff
|
Seasoned HDF Member
Default Guess I'm just too Old. CARBS

Just read about 150 post about new FP3 tuner using smart phones to map WOW. I have an 09 Ultra that has a FuelPak manually programmed (no dyno) that will run anyone. The rest of my bikes have CARBS and will run with or outrun most.
I do enjoy this site and have been helped so much by some of the experience here. I see where these guys are coming from a little. I love performance, but I also like to just cruise and enjoy the road, the wind, and the sound of my pipes through the twistys.
I am actually a tech (day job) that operates and repairs flow computers, transmitters, control devices, monitoring components, and analytical equipment providing energy to cities, refineries, chemical plants, and power plants.
The last thing I want to do is plot performance curves, fuel consumption, on a display screen hard wired or bluetooth in front of me.
Who would have ever thought HARLEY DAVIDSON and Bluetooth would be in the same sentence?

Old 12-10-2014 | 10:09 PM
oct1949
Club Member

I am only 65 and I love not having to mess with the carbs anymore and I like the new Electronics on cars and bikes. just me..

We all be diff and that is good... IMO I just go with what I like and leave everything else along for other to pick from...

Old 12-10-2014 | 10:38 PM
TSheff
|
Seasoned HDF Member

EFI is great for trips with elevation change and the easy starts etc. and I wouldn't give up the comfort of my Ultra for long hauls. Please don't mistake my comment as a knock against the tuner guys, but I'm almost your age and I guess I'm just too lazy to learn all the new stuff and all the diagnostic equipment that goes with it. Keep the shiny side up.

Old 12-10-2014 | 10:53 PM
Pete3323
Road Master