Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

??? Replacing Cylinder Base Gaskets on a 87 Evo

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday | 11:43 PM
troy montoya
|
Road Master
Veteran: Army
Default ??? Replacing Cylinder Base Gaskets on a 87 Evo

Hi everyone hope your enjoying your weekend,
I have a question, I am considering doing some work for my neibour, her 87 softail is leaking oil at the rear cylinder base, I've never done this job before on an Evo, I do have a FPM & service Manual up to 1988,
looking through the Manuals ,this job looks pretty straight forward, in searching through YouTube I came across Doc Harley video concerning replacing head bolts & cylinder studs with new ones & installing the Studs up side down to prevent the head bolts from bottoming out when tourquing , BTW this was not covered in my FM's
. . . So my question is are there any other issues I should be watching out for ? I feel pretty confident I can do the work, I have a snap-on digital tourqe wrench & am told the job can be done with the motor still in the frame . . . just a little side note I would like to use NOS OEM hardware & Cometic Gaskets . . .
thanks for any suggestions & input . . .
Best regards Troy ; )

Last edited by troy montoya; Yesterday at 11:46 PM.
Old Today | 12:35 AM
TwiZted Biker
Club Member