Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can a clutch cable be too long?

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2024, 09:21 AM
sportster10inapes
Stage III
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Can a clutch cable be too long?

Hello everyone,

I have a 2012 Road Glide Ultra and I just installed 16" apes. I installed the apes after I was riding the bike and the clutch cable broke on me and it gave me a reason to upgrade my bars.

I have been having a hard time with adjusting the clutch and making it where it will ride. Adjusting the cable itself has been tough because I obviously increased the length for the new apes, but I think the cable can be too long because I run out of the adjusting threads. I have tried adjusting the internal clutch in the primary, but I have little experience with this.

I loosened the nut and then backed off the threaded bolt. Then I threaded the bolt back till it felt as if it started touching. Then I backed it off half a turn and then tighten the bolt. After I do this, I then adjust the clutch cable and it just isn't enough for me to be able to engage the clutch. Now if I take the internal threaded bolt and turn it till it is finger tight and the tighten the bolt, I am able to adjust the cable to where it is able to engage, but when I took it for a test drive, I noticed a few gears that felt like they were slipping. This didn't happen at all before my clutch cable broke.

The only thing I can think of is that the gentleman who sold me the cable might have sold me too long of a cable, because he felt unsure of the length and the cable does seem to have a lot of length to work with. The other thing I think it might be is a worn out clutch. Can anyone help me narrow that down?

Thanks in advance.

Old 08-05-2024, 10:04 AM
brakeless
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,671 Likes on 2,715 Posts