Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Brake Fluid Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2013, 09:26 AM
tennesseeguy
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Fluid Question

I have searched and Googled until I am more confused than when I started.
I have a 1982 FXWG but the master cylinder has been changed and no marking on it anywhere I can see. I pulled a sample of the fluid out and compared it to DOT 5 which is what I would think it has in it but the color is different. In the picture the fluid from the bike is on the left and it looks yellow(ish)? and the DOT 5 (on the right) I just bought looks purple..I don't want to mix the fluids because I know of what that can cause..anyone have any ideas? I need to rebuild the master cylinder but want to add the right stuff back..thanks in advance and sorry if this is a stupid question, yes there are stupid questions
Larry

Attached Thumbnails Brake Fluid Question-100_0638.jpg  
Old 05-15-2013, 09:50 AM
seehogs
Advanced
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

The dot5 that comes in the bikes is yellow. The dot5
you and I can buy is purple to blue in color.
Take a little of both and mix them in a container.
If one is dot4 then they will not mix. Just do about
a teaspoon full of each.

Old 05-15-2013, 11:24 AM
tennesseeguy
Advanced

thanks seehogs!
I mixed the two and the fluid turned clear so I threw an 'O' ring in the container and I'll let it sit a while to make sure it doesn't eat the ring or turn to jell but makes sense that you are correct...thanks!

Old 05-15-2013, 07:26 PM
johnjzjz
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,841 Likes on 3,014 Posts

no that is not what happens - the brake fluid suspends and does not mix - the area that the two meet the metal corrodes ALLOY / and the steel spring rusts - and it forms grains of debris -- jz

Old 05-15-2013, 07:39 PM
HDs4me
Cruiser
Received 30 Likes on 20 Posts

All DOT5 is purple when it is new and it changes color to yellowish over time.

Old 05-15-2013, 08:20 PM