Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Shovel for a first HD?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2007, 06:40 PM
dynrat
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shovel for a first HD?

Alright I know this question gets asked all the time and I hate to beat a dead horse but I want some honest opinions. I have been riding for about 15 years but have always owned metrics. This year the s%@* hit the fan for me financially and I had to sell my bike (2000 Yamaha RoadStar). I have always wanted to own an HD but never seemed to be able to come up with the coin to do it. I have gotten the finances straight and put away some cash for a bike now and have been shopping for the last few months. I came across a 76 FLH for a few grand. The engine, exhaust, forks, and some other pieces have some corrosion but nothing horrible. The paint looks halfway decent (no dents, dings, fading). The bike runs fairly well but could use some maintenance (brakes, tires, battery, probably change the fluids). I guess the question is if this is a mistake for my first HD? I am a professional auto mechanic so I am competent in the garage although I don't have a lot of heavy bike experience. I have done bike work but no heavy engine stuff. Am I mistaken that this bike doesn't look too terribly complicated? Seems as long as you've got a good manual, good tools, and know which end of a wrench to turn you can figure most of it out. Am I totally off base?

Any opinions here are appreciated.

If the consensus here is to go for it. Are there any issues common to the shovelheads I should be aware of? Is there anything in particular I should look for when I go to look at the bike again?

Old 01-19-2007, 07:07 PM
pittguy
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Shovel for a first HD?