Screamin Eagle CVO Models All CVO Bikes 1999 thru present.

Only 1qt of oil after service from dealer!! WTF

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2011, 01:30 PM
jetwrench450
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Only 1qt of oil after service from dealer!! WTF

Hey guy's I am pretty torqued as I just did a ride to Savannah GA from upstate NY and had my engine start knocking in SC. I had the 1000 mile service done by my dealer and had 3000mi on my bike when I headed on my trip. I am a jet mechanic by trade and a good wrench on anything mechanical so I know right from wrong and you can't tell me that brand new CVO fat bob is gonna drink 2.5qts of oil in 3-4000 miles. I took it to a dealer in SC and they confirmed the bike was not leaking oil in any way and was improperly serviced. After adding oil the knock in the motor went away and they said they were very confident that the motor was not compromised and therefore did a full oil/filter change. I rode back to NY with no further issue's as far as I can tell. That being said the mechanic in me say's that even if minor there had to be some damage or wear on the top end. I contacted HD customer service and they only recommended a compression test as further check and that they feel the engine is fine based on what I told them. I would like to get some feed back from any of you that have experience with HD engines and maintenance issues. Also I would be curious on how you may handle the issue. I bought the bike new last year, it's a 2009 CVO Fat Bob and I now have 5000 miles on the bike. Thank you for any and all feed back. And yeah you can save the comments on I should have checked the oil sooner as I obviously should not have trusted my dealer but as it was brand new and I have cleaned and inspected the bike several times with no evidence of leakage I truly never thought the oil could be low. Dumb on my part but does not excuse the dealer for screwing up!

Nick

Old 04-26-2011, 07:29 PM
Cosmic Charlie
Elite HDF Member