Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

Deleware Water Gap Nat Rec Area

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2010, 01:08 PM
etstrine
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Deleware Water Gap Nat Rec Area

Planning my trip to Maine and the ride planner has taken me through the Deleware Water Gap National Recreation area by way of 209. I see what looks to be an interesting ride on the other side of the river called 'Old Mine Road'. Any advice here? Is this all paved road or one I should avoid? Any interesting stops through here? Thanks

Old 01-16-2010, 05:19 PM
CWDoc115
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Rt 209 used to be a good road back when I was driving cross country for a living, but they closed it down to local traffic only, and the last time I drove that road, it totally stop & go most of the way from I84 down to I80. Don't think I'd do that one again...

Old 01-17-2010, 06:27 PM
bjpharmd
Advanced

check out old mine rd. it's pretty cool and scenic. there's an abandoned village called walpack center. the land was purchased by the us gov't when they planned to build a dam on the delaware river. That entire area was going to be flooded, so the entire town was relocated. The dam was never built, and nothing was ever done with the land. As far as I know, the village is still standing for the most part. could be a pretty cool detour off of the interstate for a while. I've been camping up there a few times. one of nj's neat places to visit.
check out tock's island dam project or walpack center on the internet. pretty neat.

Old 01-17-2010, 07:39 PM
lonerider560
Advanced

Old Mine Road is a great run up the jersey side of the river. The lower part has pot holes and such, but can still be done without a problem take it up to 206, go north on 206 over the Milford bridge and you can pick up 84. Where do you plan on picking up 209?

Old 01-18-2010, 10:49 AM
etstrine
Tourer