Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

New to Texas Riding(DFW) Need some rides!

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2020 | 11:19 AM
WhiskeyDingo
|
Novice
Default New to Texas Riding(DFW) Need some rides!

I’m new to Texas riding(Grew up in Utah, riding through Zion and Nevada). The major highways in DFW are too stressful to ride for me.
I’m planning to go do some more Texas riding this spring/summer.

Anyone have any recommendations on some
low trafficked highways/roadways for some small weekend trips? (2-5 hrs)
Call me a Fairweather or a Bluemoon rider or whatever, but I don’t mind trailering my bike out a little ways to avoid 35, 75, 635 at all. You guys who rides those are a lot tougher than me. Just need some help! Getting outside of dallas is tough.

Old 02-12-2020 | 01:42 PM
CrBear
Grand HDF Member

Welcome Whiskey..North 75 isn't bad once you get up around Melissa. 455 is a nice road around there. But I'd ride to Arkansas (about 4 hours to Mena) and go north from there.. Low traffic and great roads. Hill Country (Twisted Sisters) is nice riding too.
You're not going to find "Utah" (hiway 12) quality here.. But agree, in-town traffic can be a bear!

The following 2 users liked this post by CrBear:
deckdr (03-05-2020), WhiskeyDingo (02-19-2020)
Old 02-12-2020 | 04:23 PM
jeb42
Advanced

Originally Posted by WhiskeyDingo
I’m new to Texas riding(Grew up in Utah, riding through Zion and Nevada). The major highways in DFW are too stressful to ride for me.
I’m planning to go do some more Texas riding this spring/summer.

Anyone have any recommendations on some
low trafficked highways/roadways for some small weekend trips? (2-5 hrs)
Call me a Fairweather or a Bluemoon rider or whatever, but I don’t mind trailering my bike out a little ways to avoid 35, 75, 635 at all. You guys who rides those are a lot tougher than me. Just need some help! Getting outside of dallas is tough.