Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Primary oil

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2006, 12:29 PM
HDKiz
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Primary oil

I have looked at the forums and not found anything on this. Probably because it is a sportster. I have a '95 sportster. Oil leaks from the primary. I'm also a carpenter, and the bike is not made of wood. Where do I check the fluids for the primary, and add or drain them from? I saw a lot of posts about this, but none for my model. I know there are manuals available for this, but do not own one as of yet. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 10-05-2006, 11:31 AM
DJJSR
Cruiser
Default RE: Primary oil

I also have a '95. It's time for you to change a few gaskets. The primary cover gasket, derby cover quad ring, inspection cover ring and shifter shaft seal. It's not a difficult job, but get a manual. It will tell you some important things like torque specs and tightening sequence. Follow those specs carefully to avoid a stripped thread or another leak.
Some guys get a little frustrated when trying to hold the derby cover quad ring in place. Since you're going to have the primary cover off, you may want to try what I did. With the primary cover lying flat on your bench, clean and dry the shallow groove that locates the quad ring. Then, using a toothpick or q-tip, put a very small dab of silicon in 8 places around the groove and put the quad ring in place. Set the derby cover in place and lightly snug the screws. In a few hours take the derby cover off. The silicone will be dry enough to hold the ring. I've had my derby cover off several times since I did this and haven't replaced the quad ring or had it fall out of place.

Old 10-09-2006, 01:49 PM
HDKiz
1st Gear

Just a quick thanks for the info.

Old 10-10-2006, 01:42 PM
bobcowan
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post