Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Cam Tensioners

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2011, 09:00 PM
hungry horse
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam Tensioners

Hope this is the correct place for this post.....

I have a '03 Road King Classic with 48,000 miles.....So far I've had absolutely no mechanical trouble with it. A friend of mine was telling me that it might be a good idea to replace the cam tensioners as preventive maint due to the mileage ......I'm no mechanic and have no mechanical skills/aptitude, so here I am asking the masses for feedback. What are you thoughts, concerns, experiences, and etc concerning the cam tensioners?

Old 01-01-2011, 09:44 PM
cromagnon
Grand HDF Member
Received 59 Likes on 47 Posts

Discussed many times here. I got 50K on my 05' and they have never been checked. I could do it my self, the check, but am worried about the actual replacement if needed. Damn, I'm always so broke. Still got the original front tire too......

Old 01-01-2011, 09:55 PM
1plumr1
Road Warrior
Received 413 Likes on 220 Posts

At the very least get them inspected. While the shop is in there, put new shoes in even if there is still wear left. Best idea is to do the cam plate, tensioners, oil pump upgrade. 50k is about max on 90* of '03 tensioners. Opened mine up @ 50k because of a weird noise and the chain was running on metal, no shoe. Do it yourself and you'll be into it (kit,specialty tools, gaskets, oil) about $500. You'll be about $250 more at the shop.

Old 01-02-2011, 12:20 AM
Nightglidr
Advanced
Default Change them out!