Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Barnett Extra plate kit w/ spring conv. Not engaging

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2020 | 11:38 PM
SeanDoe209
|
4th Gear
Default Barnett Extra plate kit w/ spring conv. Not engaging

Hello all,
I'm new here and Im no mechanic but I'm definitely not new to wrenching on bikes

Just recently purchased a few months ago a 2007 Road King Classic 54k miles I have a bit of an OCD when it comes to pre maintenance as I ride hard and long distance and I like to keep up with the pack.

Clutch started dragging at take off so I figured it was a good time to upgrade to some performance parts.
I installed the Barnett carbon fiber extra plate clutch kit which calls for the damper spring and damper spring seat to be removed from the clutch basket entirely. (Pre soaked in the recomended primary oil) It ran for a few hours before starting to slip out of 5th a few minor adjustments later and it ran for about another block before loosing it completely ( no clutch engagment at all). A few more quick adjustments at the basket and the cable and It ran great for a few hours and then started slipping again. So I upgraded to the Barnett spring conversion kit. Pulled it apart plates still look brand new. After installing the spring conversion kit the clutch will not engage at all. Shift into 1st 2nd 3rd whatever there's no engagement at all bike won't go nowhere.