Powdercoat & Paint A place to discuss everything about powder coat and paint for your Harley.

Can you clear over existing paint?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2012, 07:32 PM
Ace07FXDL
Road Captain
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Can you clear over existing paint?

My bike has a very nice factory paint job but I would like to freshen it up possibly but only to the point of trying to remove swirl marks from cleaning and slight scratches in the clear coat. Can a factory paint job 'clear coated only?

Old 07-01-2012, 08:02 PM
Newharleylover
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 1,165 Likes on 456 Posts

I've been a painter for almost 30 years and I can tell you that almost any paint job can be clearcoated over. You have to approach the sanding part of it in a different way, that's all.

Old 07-01-2012, 08:12 PM
trozenhorse
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

how old is the bike? have u used a porter cable random orbital with good sponges and swirl remover? thats what i always do and then seal the paint and load on multiple coats of wax over a 2 day period of time

Old 07-01-2012, 08:13 PM
trozenhorse
Road Captain

by the way Newharleylover , what type of sandpaper should i use on top of paint to get good scratches out but to preserve the finish enough that i can polish it back to a shine?

Old 07-01-2012, 08:48 PM
Newharleylover
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 1,165 Likes on 456 Posts

Originally Posted by trozenhorse
by the way Newharleylover , what type of sandpaper should i use on top of paint to get good scratches out but to preserve the finish enough that i can polish it back to a shine?