Powdercoat & Paint A place to discuss everything about powder coat and paint for your Harley.

Paint Touchup Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2011, 08:34 AM
StuBerger
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paint Touchup Help Needed

Hope everyone had a great holiday and hope the new year brings everything you all want!

Got a question...I'm a newbie and have a 05 Heritage Classic in vivid black which I hear is a real pain to keep in good condition and touchups vcan be a PITA.... My front fender has a couple small chips and a few swirl scratches and the tank isn't bad at all but in the sun you can see a few soft swirls.

I have read that the Harley touchup paint is okay and have also read that 3M makes a superfine polish as well as a couple other products. I know the touchup paint would be good I guess for the small chips however, the swirls I am guessing it would not. I am also not sure how to properly apply the touchup paint to really get a good match to the height of the top coat surrounding the chips. And I have heard a few suggestions on the polishing of the vivid black paint.... I am in a conundrum here!

Any tips/help/suggestions would be greatley appreciated!

Old 12-27-2011, 11:43 AM
wiktor
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't know about the touchup paint but I had some marks in my Vivid Black and used Meguiars Ultimate Polish and liquid Ultimate Wax with great results. I actually got swirl marks from the Harley wax and the Maguiars took care of these and some scuff marks.

Old 12-27-2011, 01:13 PM
Newharleylover
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 1,165 Likes on 456 Posts