Oil Archive (no new posts) An archive of oil related questions and comments.

Harley Website says you have to still change your Synthetic oil every 5000 miles, is it so?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2005, 11:27 AM
raaaaaa
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Harley Website says you have to still change your Synthetic oil every 5000 miles, is it so?

Hello everyone noob here with a noob question.

me and my girlfriend have two bikes, 2001 fatboy(15000 miles) and a 2004 sportster 1200 custom (5500miles).
we are going from NJ to Cali and back in August. I would like to upgrade to synthetic so I can make the whole trip without having to stop at the dealer for service.(waste valuable time and money)

So, I read up on the Synthetic oil on the Harley site,
Harley davidson SYN3 FAQ

"Will the use of SYN3 lengthen my service intervals?
No, we recommend that you still follow your owner's manual for the proper service schedule for your vehicle."

then they figured you would ask so they also say

"If this product is a high performance lubricant, why would my service intervals not be extended?

While SYN3 will help reduce the amount of impurities to your engine, no lubricant product can reduce fuel dilution (this happens every time you start your vehicle). As a result, the regular service schedule is recommended for optimum performance of your vehicle.
Lubricants begin to break down the moment the engine is started. The long molecular strands of the lubricant begin to be sheared between the faces of gears, pistons or other moving parts. SYN3 was tested to confirm that the lubricant provides the protection required for the engine, primary chaincase and transmission for the drain intervals specified in the Owner's Manual."

Can someone give me real world answer to my question,
can I change my regular oil on both these bikes over the Synthetic and go 8,000 miles without changing it?

I appreciate any input and thank in advance.

Old 05-04-2005, 11:37 AM
Pelonz