Oil Archive (no new posts) An archive of oil related questions and comments.

dumps oil after storage

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2009, 09:45 AM
TWAFXRP
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dumps oil after storage

Hey guys I have an older '91' evo it has been neglected the last few yrs for lack of a good place to tear it down (my lady wont let me bring it in the house) it needs new rotor, to deal with that I got a deep cycle battery , it also has a busted spring in the tranny, so I have to toe it down before the up-shift... it goes on and on and I have most all the parts to make the repairs, but with all this I started riding less and less..

All that said... after being parked a few months, the first start-up it pukes oil out the crankcase oil breather... thats the problem I dont know what to repair to stop this, or how serious it is...
I am finally getting a place to do the work, top end rotor and shifting prob but I dont what repair is needed in the lower end or how serious this is..

ANYONE???

Old 03-04-2009, 12:22 PM
siggybrain
Intermediate

My Evo did this to me if I didn't start it for a few weeks.
Ok there is a check valve with a spring that holds the oil into the oil tank below the seat from draining back into the engine. So after awhile the oil does leak past the check valve and collect into the lower case of the engine. Usualy getting above the vent tube that next to the oil pump. So when the motor starts it build pressure back pressure in the lower cases and blows the oil out of the vent line all over the bike usually. This is one of the reasons that harley when to the heads with the vents. You can raise the level of the vent tube higher and that should help. Or get a new spring for the check valve, shouldn't be very much and pretty easy to change.
Hope this helps and didn't confuse you any more.

Old 03-04-2009, 05:37 PM
EZ2Rider
Road Master

WET SUMPING