Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

1st time Ironhead owner

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2011, 03:53 PM
Venompwr2
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st time Ironhead owner

What's up guys, this is my first post on here, I've been reading through some things the last few days.
I received a 1980 Ironhead sportster as an inheritance of sorts this, and picked it up this past weekend and would like to know the "essentials" of what I should know about it, if that can be summarized somehow. This is not my first bike, my other is an 08 Buell Lightning, so this is my first older and carbed bike. I am an auto tech, so I don't need any dumbed down explanations either.

The bike was given to me in pieces 3 years ago fully dissasemebled. At the time, this was not a project I cared to take on myself, as I didnt know a thing about motorcycles or what I was even working with for parts. A family friend owns a shop, and put it all together for me, not a restoration assembly, but just back together and running. The motor is fully rebuilt, tank and fenders need paint, a few minor details etc.

Stock ironhead motor, some kind of baffleless slip on's, S&S Super E carb and air cleaner, 85 front end with single rotor, has an upgraded generator I was told, and an accel electronic ignition unit.

Where are good places to source parts?
Is there a diff in the 80 and 85 forks & brakes?
Am I still going to have to worry about the ignition, I don't know if thats a decent unit or just a cheapo?
Will most slip on's fit to the headers?
Which models are going to have interchangeable parts?
There is no speedo or tach on it, will I have to get an original or are there some aftermarket ones that will work?

I'll put up some pics tomorrow or later so you can see what I'm working with.

Old 12-06-2011, 04:58 PM
IronMick
Stellar HDF Member
Received 114 Likes on 94 Posts