Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Main jet adjustment??

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2011 | 07:50 PM
nwpaironhead
|
Cruiser
Red face Main jet adjustment??

Hello all! Been a while since I've posted and alot has changed! I am NOT worried about the garage onset of cold weather! I am now a resident of sunny south Carolina and am finally settled in and preparing to take ole blue for a ride!! I was able to put a couple miles on her last year, but this summer was spent moving. In preperation for firing her up, i adjusted my push rods, set my points. Charged the battery, put it on and polarized the genny. I had messed with the genny carb some before putting her up last year so I know she's.not where she needs to be so I would like to start at a good baseline adjustment. It is a 38 mm. Bendix with an adjustable main. I set the low speed circuit by turning in the idle adj screw (closest to the intake ) all the way in then backed it out 11/2 turns. Where do i start with the high speed circuit adjustment?? Any input would be great! Thanks!!

Old 10-02-2011 | 09:04 PM
scottfisher
Road Captain

same; screw it all the way in then back it out 1 1/2 turns.

Old 10-03-2011 | 06:24 AM
piniongear
Outstanding HDF Member

Originally Posted by nwpaironhead