Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Thinking of buying a 76 Ironhead Sportster

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2010, 06:51 PM
bmassarani
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking of buying a 76 Ironhead Sportster

I may be opening up a can of worms...

I've been riding for over 2 years now and I bought a lightly used 2008 sportster as my first bike. I like the idea of buying an older bike for some character and customization, plus we're moving into a new house and some extra cash for selling my Nightster would be welcome.

There is a 76 Ironhead Sportster on sale near me for 2500.00. I've spoke to the seller and he said that he was selling it for a family. It has a clean title and "needs no major work." I am also am NOT mechanical, but I definitely would like to get a bike that I can start working on minor things to start learning.

Here is what I know about the bike:
-Unknown how many miles are on the bike - Odometer has been replaced with another (stock).
-Brake lines need bleeding
-Clean title and registration matches on the motor and crank

Apparently everything else is good with the bike.

My main questions are:

1 - Is this even a good idea?
2 - If this bike is actually in good shape, how much maintenance is required on an Ironhead, and would this be doable for a novice?
3 - How could I tell if the engine has been redone?
4 - any other things I should look for or thoughts on the change?

2 - How can I

Old 06-10-2010, 07:12 PM
stonemaster
Intermediate

if you think you'll save money then you're wrong, it will need something soon er than later you better have some wrenching skills and tools but I wouldnt trade mine for any Evo,Vrod Road Kibg etc.... they sound awesome

Old 06-10-2010, 07:41 PM
shepdog
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post