Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Torque cones or washers?

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2010, 11:07 AM
Weed's Ironscoot
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Torque cones or washers?

Switched out the 2" drag pipes with washer lollipops for a set of open 1 3/4" drag pipes yesterday and went for a ride. The flat spot between 3,000 and 4,000 rpm is back. It's not quite as bad as it was with open 2" pipes but it is definitely there.
Before I go drilling holes in the new pipes to put washers in 'em, is there any advantage to using the torque cones instead of the washers? From what I've read here and there it seems to be about 50/50 on whether or not they actually work. Anybody with real experience care to throw your two cents in here?

Old 05-07-2010, 02:34 PM
IronMick
Stellar HDF Member
Received 114 Likes on 94 Posts

I have no experience with torque cones. But i will ask, do they even make them for IronHead pipes? It seems to me that i have heard that they do not. From what i have heard i think they may be in the snake oil catagory.

I have used the bolt&washer baffles myself; i "have heard" that they were first used by the Honda racing team back in the day; i know that they work from my own and others' experiences.

Old 05-07-2010, 05:15 PM
shepdog
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

dont know if they work or not but there is a guy on ebay that sells them for the ironhead

Old 05-07-2010, 05:16 PM
Weed's Ironscoot
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts