Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Ironhead starter issues....

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2006, 10:48 AM
Hey Zeus
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ironhead starter issues....

Hello,
I am the actual guy that is having trouble with finding the correct starter for my 76 Ironhead....I know it isn't rocket science, but I am new to the Sporty line (have always dealt with big twins). Anyhow, the real question I have is - was there a difference in starters from a solid electric start motor as opposed to the kicker/electric combo? I purchased a Hitachi style starter from Ebay that was specifically listed for the 76 model, but in no way do the through-bolts line up (off by a fraction to the actual housing) and the molded shroud around the starter gear will not fit through the hole in the starter housing (diameter on the housing is too small). Please help if you can....about ready to ditch this whole project because for some reason, it has turned into rocket science!

Old 02-26-2006, 02:01 PM
sbd
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Ironhead starter issues....

Well my 77 xlh uses a prestolite starter motor, my buddys 76 also use the same one....now they were both non kick start models.....I thought that the only difference was the outer cover??? I have been wrong before....I also thought the Hitachi starter fits a little later model sporty???? Again i think, and have been wrong before.......JERRY

Old 02-26-2006, 02:41 PM
Hey Zeus
Road Captain

Thanks for the info Jerry....I will continue my trek to find the right one. I can't believe how hard this is, I may as well stick to the straight kicker at this point....o well...the search continues. Later for now.

Old 02-26-2006, 05:40 PM
Thebudman
Stage III