Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Question about mapping - tuning

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2014 | 07:24 PM
Buckshaw
|
Intermediate
Default Question about mapping - tuning

I have a 2002 Heritage and I am thinking of changing the stock air cleaner out for a arlen ness big sucker. My question is 2 parts, 1- for best results i need to have it mapped after instalation? 2- if i got it dyno tuned would that include mapping? Im new to the fuel injection world and a bit confused.

Old 03-28-2014 | 10:02 AM
Wooddy04EGUC
Advanced

The way I understand it is that if you change both your air cleaner and your exhaust to a high flow exhaust then you need to do some adjustments. If it's just the air cleaner you should be ok. Dô you have an after market exhaust and tuner?

Old 03-28-2014 | 10:29 AM
qtrracer
Ultimate HDF Member

There are downloaded maps that can be used to re-map your ecm and for your situation those may be ok. Dyno tuning means running the bike on the dyno and checking the air fuel ratio and possibly developing a custom map specifically for your bike if needed.

An HD dealer will try and sell you a Stage 1 download and that is basically just a change in the rpm that the rev limiter is set at. HD does not have street legal maps that diverge from EPA regulations.

I had a Stage 1 download and a SE Highflow AC(same as Big Sucker) with stock exhaust and it ran ok.

Old 03-28-2014 | 10:39 AM
usraptor
Road Master