Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

New guy wanting to fix his bike/learn something (Sportster won't start)

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2013, 06:59 PM
willing_to_learn
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy wanting to fix his bike/learn something (Sportster won't start)

I have a daily driver 2005 883 that I have been riding for 4 years now. Been riding it fine all spring/summer and haven't noticed any issues.

Yesterday I came home from work, parked it, and this morning I tried to turn it on and I got lights when I turned the ignition. When I tried to start it I forgot to pull my choke and the bike chugged once and died. I have accidentally forgotten to pull the choke before, but when I went to restart it I got no lights, nothing. Can't get it to turn on at all.

just checked my battery and it seems totally fine. I was getting a good reading. All the fuses are okay... so I would love some advice! I have done all my own work up to this point, and would like to continue learning/doing my own maintenance.

Thanks!
Nic

Old 09-04-2013, 07:05 PM
Stopit
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,044 Likes on 551 Posts

Check both ends of your battery cables , tightness & corrosion would be my next step if you haven't already.

Old 09-04-2013, 07:06 PM
willing_to_learn
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by Stopit
Check both ends of your battery cables , tightness & corrosion would be my next step if you haven't already.
When I took the battery out to test its voltage, I made sure to really tighten the negative and the positive leads. Both terminals look clean, too.

Old 09-04-2013, 10:01 PM
slyedog
Elite HDF Member
Received 273 Likes on 185 Posts

Originally Posted by willing_to_learn