Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

2002 Road King Classic... Battery drain/thundermax tuner problem?

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2013, 08:56 PM
blackandchrome
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Road King Classic... Battery drain/thundermax tuner problem?

Hey guys,

Kind of a newbie here for posting, but been reading for a while. I have a serious issue that i'm having troubles finding and have spent the better part of 2-3 days testing.

2002 road king.... I just had it at the shop, and they did the true dual header pipes, Thundermax tuner, and changed out my 16" bars for 18" bars. Also did a legend air ride at the same time. Well, i'm having some serious battery drain problems.

I can drive the bike during the day, but if I get home at 10-11pm, and park it in the garage, the next morning the battery is dead. So I've been testing things on it. Completely charged the battery with a slow trickle charger. Disconnected everything hooked to the negative battery terminal and stuck a tester between the negative terminal and the negative cable. The tester does a "flash". Its almost like a turn signal flash. Flash. Flash. Flash. Flash. Constantly does that. So I started tracing things. If I take out the "security" fuse it quits. But I don't have security on this bike. So last night I disconnected the TSM from the wire, and had the battery fully charged. This morning it was dead again. (overnight I left everything hooked to the battery but had the TSM disconnected) So I charged the battery up again today, disconnected all of the connectors behind the headlight for the bars, took off the negative cables, and did the tester again. Low and behold I still have the same "flash" on the tester.