Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

98 Electra Glide Idle Issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2012, 03:14 AM
Valinn628
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 Electra Glide Idle Issues

Hello all im new to the forms and hoping for some help. Ive got a 98 electra glide with fuel injection evo motor. The idle has been very erratic since i got it a few months ago. At first it would just idle up and down between 900 and 2000 rpms whenever it felt like it. I read alot of people on here saying to change the temp sensor. I did this and then the problem changed. Now on cold start it will idle up to 1,800 rpms for around 6 mins and then slowly drop down to 900 rpms. It will drive fine the rest of the time but when you started it up after sitting for about 10 mins it would do the same thing all over, i dont think the motor cooled down that fast. I then got out the manual and did the idle cold and hot relearns. Got the cold rpms to be about 1,500 which is what the book says is good. Seemed fine for awhile. Then i started it up again after a 10 min sit time and suddenly im way up to 2,000 rpms. I did the cold relearn again, but then i unplugged the battery to loose then idle memory and now the bike wont idle. just chuggs between 1,000 and 1,500 rpms. Im totally at a lost as to why it wont idle after battery reset. This isnt the first time ive rest the battery. Id be open to any advice, im about ready to tear my hair out and scrap this darn thing.

Old 02-29-2012, 06:30 AM
Bodean46
Road Master
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts