Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Power Vision Information Thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2012, 01:24 PM
hboat
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, Kranky. I think there will be more knock events in the rear cylinder because it runs hotter.

Old 03-28-2012, 03:20 PM
kranky
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hboat, yes I get that and have the rear cyl. richer to compensate. Why is the spark hit count table exactly the same and why then monitor it? Soooooooo the tables are supposed to be the same and any difference would indicate a problem with spark plug????? But this is for tuning not diagnostics. I just don't understand spark hit.

Old 03-28-2012, 04:47 PM
hboat
Cruiser

I'm no expert either...I'm 2 weeks new to PV...and I'm reading all I can to learn.

I think the # of 'hits' is the # of times during your tuning run that the data logger got a 'hit' at that particular MAP and RPM reading. So, the # of 'hits' is the same, but whether or not there was a knock event is different.

Old 03-28-2012, 04:52 PM
hboat
Cruiser

The hit count adds reliability to you data. If there are 100's and the results are similar then you're logging a meaningful event. If there are only a few 'hits' (likely at a cell that's hard to reach (eg. High MAP/low RPM), well, then, one might value the data differently.

Old 03-28-2012, 04:56 PM
ColoSpgsMark
Road Captain

Originally Posted by kranky
Hboat, yes I get that and have the rear cyl. richer to compensate. Why is the spark hit count table exactly the same and why then monitor it? Soooooooo the tables are supposed to be the same and any difference would indicate a problem with spark plug????? But this is for tuning not diagnostics. I just don't understand spark hit.