Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Power Vision Information Thread

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2012, 05:25 PM
beasleyiv
Road Master
Received 59 Likes on 43 Posts

Originally Posted by Yardstick
You guys are correct...map and AT sensor will allow adjustment for altitude. Man, I heard the pop. (head comes out butt). O2 is more for maintaining the emissions vs environmental changes. Brain fart remembering the carb days.
No worries man. I usually shy away from correcting anyone on here, but I know we got some 'green' PV guys keeping tabs on this thread and didn't want them to get confused. I'm just learning with the rest, further along than some, but way behind the experts on this thread.

Old 02-09-2012, 07:19 PM
Yardstick
Road Captain
Received 44 Likes on 30 Posts

No, I don't take it in the wrong way...I take it as a conversation where both side are learning.

However, further thought on the matter:

We all know or have heard of Trim tables. My understand of the trim table is a value to adjust the amount of gas sprayed to maintain a target value (AFR or Lamda)...right? So, if that is true then O2 feedback is necessary to obtain the Trim Values. MAP is used along with RPM to determine the AFR value target. But, without O2 feedback the ECU has no means of determining whether you are richer or leaner. Time open on the fuel injectors come from a table or is calculated based on VE, MAP and RPM. But, w/o the o/2 sensor input the ECM will not know for sure if the target AFR is obtained. O2 feedback is used to determine the trim value..whether that is a calculated addition or subtraction of miliseconds or a calculation of a percentage of the open time established.