Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

SEST Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2010, 04:55 PM
harry.b
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SEST Question

I am getting ready to pull the trigger on a HQ113ST build. The ONLY thing thats stopping me from pulling the heads off and sending them out is that right now I have a PCIII. It is my understanding that the PCIII isn't going to cut it on this build so I called the local harley shop and they tune with SEST. There is no TTS tuner in town. Bottom line is that I need a starter map for the 113. does a starter map close to this build come in the kit, or do I have to order a separate disc? I'm new to SEST so any info will be appreciated.

Harry

Old 05-20-2010, 07:51 PM
Lonewolf176
Stellar HDF Member
Received 370 Likes on 235 Posts

How far are you from http://www.thedynodifference.com/. He is familiar with tuning HQ's builds. The SESPT will have a base map to start with but nothing close enough to ride. Same with TTS. If you haven't bought the SESPT yet I would get the TTS. Ed can tune with either. The HQ's builds need to have the timing tables worked with whatever tuning device you use.

Old 05-20-2010, 07:59 PM
harry.b
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Lonewolf,
thanks for the advice. I didn't buy the SEPST yet. I am about 4 1/2 hours from north dallas but it would be worth it to get a good tune. Plus, I have some friends that live nearby. I'll give Ed a call and ask him about it.

harry

Old 05-21-2010, 06:40 AM
Mr. Wizard
Administrator
Received 2,043 Likes on 1,105 Posts

Originally Posted by harry.b