Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Do I have a Power Commander?!

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2009, 02:12 PM
bimmersixx
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I have a Power Commander?!

Hey guys/gals,

I have a rather newbie question, and I thought this would be the place to ask before I went back to the stealership. I'm rather new to the HD scene, but I'm pretty well versed in EFI and tuning and such as I used to be heavily into LS1 Camaros.

Anyway, a salesman showed me an '07 Super Glide Custom and told me "this one has a Power Commander on it." It also has a Big Sucker air cleaner and Samson Big Guns 3 pipes.

Long story short, I buy the bike, and get it home. About a week later I decide to see what the Power Commander is all about, so I download the installation .pdf to see where it would be. I'm an IT Administrator, so computers AND Harleys sound like just my ticket!

The instructions say that it is supposed to be under the ECM, but when I took the cover off per the instructions, only the ECM was there, as far as I can tell.

Am I missing something? Investigation has led me to believe that this particular salesman has an honesty problem, and *this* information comes to me from another HD salesman!

Am I looking in the wrong place, or have I been lied to?

Old 07-06-2009, 03:12 PM
ronyd
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well, you got 2 options. Follow the ECM harnesses and see if PCIII is connected OR Follow the front (easier than looking at thr rear) O2 sensor to the connectors. If connector is terminated with the PCIII eliminator, you got a PCIII.

Old 07-06-2009, 03:23 PM
TickTock
Club Member