Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

SERT Adjustments for New Exhaust Pipes

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2009, 12:46 PM
jdw1951
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SERT Adjustments for New Exhaust Pipes

I am new to HDForums so as a way of introduction I have been riding motorcycles for over 30 years, although, HD only for the last 6 years. I currently have a 2004 Ultra Classic Stage 4 Big-bore with SE Performance heads, SE forged high compression pistons, SE-257 cams, SERT, and SE slip-on mufflers.

For several reasons, I have decided to change pipes to a 2-1 type. I am also purchasing an AFR gauge since these pipes feature an O2 sensor port on the front pipe to monitor the Air/fuel ratio (AFR) a couple of inches from the exhaust port to facilitate tuning. Unfortunately, my SERT knowledge is limited and I have only loaded the SE prescribed map for the Stage 4 build and made minor adjustments to the idle speed. The pipe manufacturer recommends only making changes based on the AFR gauge readings since the typical dyno probes do not properly detect the gases.

Has anyone made a similar change in exhaust pipes? If so, how much change was required to the existing MAP?

Thanks!

Old 06-04-2009, 05:35 PM
Zacharia_11
Road Master

My 2-1 required a little more adjustment to the Volumetric Efficencies because my base map was for a typical 2-2 style exhaust. It has also required some more fuel than the base map at MAP 20Kpa below 2000 rpm. I also have closed loop capabilities on my bike so my tuning method is a little different than one that is tuned in open loop like yours.