Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Ran out of gas, bike won't start back up

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2008, 04:40 PM
RidX
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ran out of gas, bike won't start back up

I'm a complete rookie (just bought the bike yesterday) so please be patient...

Bike was idling but I'd forgotten to turn the fuel on so it just died. I'm an idiot so I just sat there turning it over forever, trying to figure out what happened. Eventually I called someone and they reminded me to turn the fuel on. At that point I turned it over a few more times but it still wouldn't start, and now the starter just clicks (pretty sure I killed the battery).

The bike has basically been garaged for several years, only ridden occasionally, so I assume the battery's pretty old. Should I just go ahead and replace it? Can I jump it off like a car battery? Can I jump it off from a car?

Also, is there any reason the engine might not have started right back up once I remembered to turn the fuel back on? I turned the throttle when starting it to put some fuel back into it, but I was afraid of flooding it so it may not have been enough. How do I know if I've flooded it?

Sorry, I realize what an idiot I sound like here. Never ridden a bike before yesterday so I guess I have a little bit of an excuse.
Oh yeah- bike is a 99 Dyna Lowrider. Thanks all.

Old 08-15-2008, 05:27 PM
gs34doc
Big Kahuna HDF Member

Received 895 Likes on 633 Posts

Do not use a car, or a car battery to jump. You could damage other componants of the charging system if you do.
Hook the battery up to a charger suitable for a motorcycle battery and recharge it.
If you have put fuel in the bike, once you get the battery charged, it should start. Don't forget to use your enrichener.