Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Stumbling Road King

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2008, 07:06 PM
PLHOG
Advanced
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Angry Stumbling Road King

I have an '01 FLHRCI with 45,000 miles that I bought brand new. When I started riding in the Spring this year, the bike wouldn't idle when cold. It would just lose rpms and die. Once the bike was warm, it would run fine. In fact it was such a minor problem that I forgot to mentioned it when I took the bike in for the 45,000 mile service. The tech caught it and said it needed a new air temp sensor, which they didn't have in stock.

So I took the bike back when the part came in, and they installed it. Everything seemed fine.

Not to long afterward, I noticed that it seemed to have a flat spot at maybe around 3K rpms (no tach). I noticed that sometimes when I flip on the kill switch before hitting the starter, sometimes the fuel pump doesn't make that nice high-freq whirring sound. The tech heard it too. The FP doesn't make the odd sound on the first power-up, but will if I shut off the ignition and turn in back on again. Maybe it's just that the second time the fuel line is already pressurized, but I have spent many thousands of hours in the saddle on this bike, and tend to trust my instincts when I notice a noise - something had changed.

This time the tech said the EFI was dumping too much fuel in and fouling the plugs (it felt like too little fuel to me). They recommended a new fuel pressure regulator.

So they called today and said the bike was ready. Except that when I went to leave, it started hard, wouldn't idle, and still had the stumble problem. I took it a few miles up the road to get some clearer symptoms: