Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Ran my superglide lean for 300 miles.. Damage????

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2008, 03:32 PM
Buzzardbait
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ran my superglide lean for 300 miles.. Damage????

So i was havving "issues" with my new (to me) 06 superglide..

only mods to the bike were harley script slip-ons....
(i asked them FIVE times if they would cause it to need a re-map... No you'll be fine)

Running hot, poor throttle response, bucking at cruise in town, vibrations, pinging.....

Took it to steeler and told them about the above...

Well....Friday, tech calls me, says he can't find anything wrong after two five minute rides...I wig out and tell him that i've been tuning injection for 10 years on rx-7's and there is something WRONG.....he wants more time to "diagnose"...I tell him BS, i'll pick up the bike and slap an auto-tune in it and be done with it...

Owner calls me back a minute later asking to keep it for a while so they can fix the problem.

Today.... I get a call from the DYNO tech....they put the bike on the dyno.... its running from 15.8 to 16.9 AFR at cruise![:@][:@][:@][:@]

WOW... i knew it was lean, but i didn't think it was THAT lean!

now to my question.... what did 300 miles of that kind of leaness and heat do to my 5K mile motor?I know if i did that to a rotary motor, i'd have puked the apex seals out the wastegate!!

Old 06-30-2008, 04:50 PM
Doc 1
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 31 Likes on 20 Posts
Default RE: Ran my superglide lean for 300 miles.. Damage????

Have a leak down test done....this will let you know if there is damage to the rings or valves, if it passes with less than 10% your alright, if it's above 10% you might think about a fresh top end.

Old 06-30-2008, 07:13 PM
Donny