Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Nightrider O2 IED's - Field Test

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2008 | 04:16 AM
ULTRA Gramps
Outstanding HDF Member
Default RE: Nightrider O2 IED's - Field Test

Well 600 miles on the new XIEDSin all riding conditions this weekend from high 90s on the flatlands to 50s in the high montains. VERY happy! Great pulling power, never seen oil temp over 230 no matter what the conditions with no oil cooler. 46mpg for the 600+ miles. I had been running IEDS for over 2000 miles and was happy but the 100s will be here soon and I was wanting to keep eng. temps down. I am running SERT canned map Stage1 AC and SE slip ons with stock pipes. NO codes were thrown. I will keep the IEDS for back up But the XIEDS will stay in the bike. I will be installing oil cooler at next oil change and I will be ready for the AZ summer. Thank you Nightrider (steve) this is the best my bike has been in the 13000 miles I have put on this bike.

Old 04-28-2008 | 06:57 AM
Mr. Clean
Cruiser

lonewatie:

Not to take anything away from what cruiser said, I recently had the dealer do the Stage1 download. I had it done for only two reasons.

I bought my bike used last October and it had the SE A/C on it with stock exhaust. I was concerned that it might be running too lean and had it dynoed. In closed loop the A/F ratio was 15.1-15.2 - too lean confirmed.

The indy shop that did the dyno runs recommended thePC III and dyno runs at a cost of $500-550 to correct the lean running. Before Ispent that much money,I did a lot of research. I came across the Nightrider sight and spoke with Steve. He convinced me to try the O2IED's. I did and the bike ran better and seemed to be running cooler.