Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Timing advance at idle

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2007 | 03:08 PM
Racerx296
|
5th Gear
Default Timing advance at idle

On a 07 road king SERT, SE Air Cleaner, Rineheart tru duals, question is----> how do I get the idle to sound like the old carb days! I advanced the timing and lowerd idle speed to 900rpm its better but still sounds weak. Any ideas?

Old 09-11-2007 | 06:47 AM
Racerx296
|
5th Gear
Default RE: Timing advance at idle

?

Old 09-11-2007 | 07:17 AM
Dsanchez
Road Captain

I'm no expert...but...do you really want to advance the timing any more than it is already. Supposedly its like 12 degrees advanced as is .

Old 09-11-2007 | 07:58 AM
msocko3
Ultimate HDF Member

ORIGINAL: Racerx296

On a 07 road king SERT, SE Air Cleaner, Rineheart tru duals, question is----> how do I get the idle to sound like the old carb days! I advanced the timing and lowerd idle speed to 900rpm its better but still sounds weak. Any ideas?
Looks like you might kill the poor critter if you keep messing with it. They have the idle set where it is for a reason and thats oiling and generating power to keep lights lit and battery charging. Try as one might they just are not going to get a FI bike to sound like something it is not. If it was me I'd put things back and learn to love what I have before the repair bills start from tinkering with somethings that are not understood.

Old 09-11-2007 | 05:55 PM
Black Bart
Road Master

If you're looking for a loping idle maybe what you really need is a set of cams?

Bart

[IMG]local://upfiles/16365/AA937B8CA73941978D33F8C45BA80426.jpg[/IMG]

Old 09-12-2007 | 11:10 AM
Racerx296
|
5th Gear

Any suggestions? as far as cams cam kits?

Old 09-12-2007 | 01:18 PM
Bellamacchina
Intermediate