Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Intermittent Engine Cutting Out

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2021, 10:08 PM
Angelfire36
Road Warrior
Received 69 Likes on 42 Posts
Default Intermittent Engine Cutting Out

Looks like I'm on my own. I have no experience with diagnostics or electrical stuff. I have taken my bike to 2 mechanics and both say it's fixed. 2011 Dyna Street Bob, 28,000 miles. Engine cutting out while riding, like I hit the kill switch. I can always start it by pulling in the clutch and hitting the start button while I'm still rolling (so far). Also, not priming when I turn on the ignition with run switch on (sometimes), when it does this I can toggle the run/stop switch and it will prime and start as normal. Anyone recognize these symptoms? It's intermittent, like every other day, every other week, every other month. Random. I'm picking my bike up from the shop, they say they can't find anything wrong with it. I know I'll have to start from the ignition and work my way through to see what's up. Just wondering if anyone else has had these problems. I have ridden this bike 10 years and this is something new, something I have to find and fix. Thanks for any advice or help you can provide.

Old 05-25-2021, 10:47 PM
Ed Ramberger
Stellar HDF Member
Received 971 Likes on 671 Posts

Does it cut out while under power or coasting?
When it doesn't prime is it the initial power up, or does it prime initially and you cycle it and it doesn't prime a second time?
Have you noticed any speedometer erratic behavior or signals not cancelling?
Do you have a tach - if so what is the idle?
Above answers will help (reasons may not be obvious but they will rule certain things out), but one thought I have is the system relay or it's connection may be getting flakey.