Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

TTS Mastertune or PCV with Auto Tune Kit?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2018, 09:31 PM
OLD 96
Grand HDF Member
Received 2,381 Likes on 958 Posts
Default TTS Mastertune or PCV with Auto Tune Kit?

I already have a PCV for my 2007 Ultra. Purchased in 2009. But. Every map I have installed the MPG goes in the toilet , bad. So. I gave up on it about 2 years ago. Been reading good things about TTS Mastertune. So. Trying to decide wheather to keep PCV and add the Auto Tune kit of go with the TTS Mastertune. I have no experience in "computer tuning" a bike. Changes to bike are Arlen Ness Big Sucker air cleaner, SE slip on mufflers, SE 255 cams. It would a learning curve.

Last edited by OLD 96; 01-05-2018 at 09:36 PM.
Old 01-06-2018, 12:45 AM
IKnowNot
Road Master
Received 124 Likes on 105 Posts

You did not say what your millage is, nor what you expect.

I am a novice, so take this for what it is worth, (and understand, I don’t like the idea of piggy-back units.)

With the mods you have the PCV should have been adequate.
If you gave up on that, what makes you think you would be better with something else?

As far as the AT PRO for the PCV, you have to understand, it will help you dial in the VE’s (especially in the high-load areas) a little quicker, but there is more to the fuel mileage aspect then just VE’s. As an example, your spark tables play a big role in fuel mileage as well as power, so knowing how to properly tune the EFI tables is imperative to complete proper performance.

If you do not plan on any additional upgrades to the motor, and you are comfortable with continued use of the PCV, then find a reputable dyno shop, tell the tuner your objectives, and have them dial it in.
But you will still have a piggy-back tuner.