General Topics/Tech Tips Discussion on break in periods, rider comfort, seats and pad suggestions. Tech tips as they become available will be posted here.

Lifting Tips Anybody got some

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2009, 02:52 PM
Walkentall
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lifting Tips Anybody got some

I am a newbie and need some tips on how to get the bike on the lift and in the air without dumping it. I have a yellow sears lift.

Any help would be appreciated.

Old 03-06-2009, 09:21 AM
tmitchellof PG
Elite HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I have the yellow Sears lift also. It easily fits under my lowered SE Fat Boy, while it is still on the jiffy stand. I position the jack under the bike, so it's under both sides of the frame properly. Then I straddle the bike and pump the handle until the bike straightens up and is almost off the ground. Then I get off the bike and raise it up to the height I want.
When I am ready to lower it I straddle the bike first.
I've read on here that some owners say that the jack lowers too fast, but I have no problem easing it down. I just barely turn the handle and it comes down fairly slow.
Make sure you use the lock, so it can't accidental come down.
I have used mine dozens of times and for some reason 2 of those times I had a hard time disengaging the lock.
Tom

Last edited by tmitchellof PG; 03-06-2009 at 09:32 AM.
Old 03-06-2009, 09:24 AM
anubisss
Banned
Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts

No need to sit on the bike. Slide the lift under about halfway back. LEAVE THE KICKSTAND DOWN! Slowly jack it up an inch or two until the bike is on the lift completely and straight up and down. Jack it up some more until you have it where you need it. Always double check when letting it down that the kickstnnd is down.

Old 03-06-2009, 09:30 AM
ord sgt
Grand HDF Member
Veteran: Air Force
Received 153 Likes on 101 Posts