General Topics/Tech Tips Discussion on break in periods, rider comfort, seats and pad suggestions. Tech tips as they become available will be posted here.

Help on model choice

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2005, 01:49 PM
CoopKC
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help on model choice

Howdy all,

I'm looking into buying a harley and have some trouble deciding between models. I'm not the most dainty critter to ever meander across the plains; let's just say I don't miss much meat & potatoes.

It's been probably 15 years or better since I rode a bike, and even then I never did ride many bikes. I mostly road ATVs, 3 & 4 wheelers. It'd be safe to classify me as a complete newbie with bikes at this point.

I'm looking at the Heritage Softtail Classic, and the Road King Classic. I was originally looking at the road king because I'm originally from Montana, and like to try to get home at least once a year from Kansas City. It's about an 1,100 mile trip, which lead me down the road king route. Keep in mind that's down the road a few years. No way in hell i plan making a tip like that without a year or two of local riding under by belt. However, starting to wonder if the heritage might be a better choice for a new rider.

I'm about 6', although most of my length is in the torso. I've only got a 30" inseam, which would probably be fine for either model, but it's not a lot of extra room.

At the moment I'm signed up for a basic rider course in a couple months (man those fill up fast), and I'm wondering around the KC area looking at bikes. Cost wise, they're pretty darn close, so that's not really an issue.

Any comments appreciated,

Coop

Old 02-07-2005, 02:10 PM
Slade
Cruiser
Default RE: Help on model choice

First of all, welcome and congrats on getting a Harley, you won't regret it.
Next, when in doubt, do nothing. Don't decide on a model until you are 110% sure. Unless you are indipendantly wealthy and can get two or three!