General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stage I with Stock Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2014, 11:27 PM
canuuk01
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stage I with Stock Exhaust

I visited the local HD service department to get information on having Stage I setup on my 2012 RK. I told him that I liked, and preferred to keep the stock exhaust. Would the benefits of a stage I setup still work without changing out the exhaust. I am no mechanic but if I understand correctly, the Stage I modifications (air filter kit) were supposed to help it breath better along with adjustments to the A/F mixture, possibly making it run just slightly cooler as well. They say no problem and offer to complete it for $500. which would include the change of the air filter/setup keeping the OEM football, as well as about 1 hour labor to remap making the necessary corrections to the air/fuel.

Maybe I'm missing something here when he suggests only the air filter change kit and one hour labor for setup. Are the air filter kits that expensive ? Will it "breathe" better without changing out the OEM exhaust ? (I have had the cat removed). Advice appreciated on this before I throw down $500.

Old 06-23-2014, 06:41 AM
robbyville
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 141 Likes on 114 Posts

I can't speak to the time or labor component but I just put a stage 1 DK Customs AC and external breather kit on my bike with stock exhaust and it seems to run a little cooler. No remapping yet though. I would imagine that more air and breathing hot air out vs. in must be of some benefit

Old 06-23-2014, 07:38 AM
medic2931
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post