General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Completely new to the riding scene

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2014 | 10:27 PM
Di3NaSsT33
|
Stage IV
Default Completely new to the riding scene

Hello all. I want to start by saying sorry if this is the incorrect forum. I am new to the site. I'm looking for information/advice about the right Harley for me. As the "Title" says. I am new to riding. As in, I just passed the MSF today. I am looking to buy a bike, and get my feet wet. I should say, I've only rode for about two days, and only on a CMX250, the bikes used during the course. My question is, what would be the best, I guess entry level "if there is such" Harley? Again, completely new to riding here. I am not interested in buying a CMX250. I know a lot of people might tell me, that would be the perfect entry level bike, then move up. But I am looking for other options, or at least some input from veteran riders. I have looked online at the specs of a few bikes, and the weight limit, sadly to say, for Harley's is rather intimidating. I would post my weight, but trust me, for my age and height, I am considered underweight by far. Side effects of a ultra fast metabolisim I'm afraid. And it is embarrassing to say the least. I will go on to say, I did drop the Rebel 3 times. I just wasn't ready for the weight. Once I got used to riding it. It did not happen again, once I learned the proper approach. I didn't drop it while driving, but once coming in for a stop, didn't straighten the wheel out. Can't blame me for not knowing. Is it wise to jump in and learn on a heavier bike? Or gradually get up that level? From what the instructor told me, I had the best leaning form in the class, once I stopped stressing so much, and just did what he told me todo. So, I'm not worried about certain things, like leans. I'm still getting used to shifting. I've never shifted a gear in my life, car or bi