General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Helmet quiet turned to the side, loud facing forward

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2013, 10:16 AM
Prot
Club Member
Veteran: Navy
Received 15,815 Likes on 6,704 Posts
Default Helmet quiet turned to the side, loud facing forward

I have been riding since 1988. I have always wore full face helmets until about four years ago when I switched over to half helmet with goggles.

I really like the half helmet but there is one problem: wind noise. It's not from the helmet itself. It's from the straps that come down near my ears.

Interestingly enough, if I turn my head slightly to one side or the other, the noise completely stops. It's only when I am facing directly forward that I get this ridiculously loud noise.

I don't wear ear plugs because I like being able to hear what is going on with my bike, and notice a small problem before it becomes a big problem.

The helmet I am wearing was purchased at the hd dealer. It's a Fulmer AF-81.

Are there quieter half helmets? Again, the noise is from the straps near my ears as the wind passes by them.

You guys have any suggestions?

Old 09-07-2013, 10:22 AM
Inop
Stellar HDF Member
Veteran: Army
Received 683 Likes on 293 Posts

Ear plugs, I dont like them either but you have to sacrifice.

Old 09-07-2013, 10:31 AM
exemexer
Road Warrior
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The right kind of ear plugs (memory foam) will minimize the harshness of the noise but still allow you to hear what you need to hear. I learned this working in a printing plant for over 30 yrs. They're designed for working in high-noise environments where you need to able to hear speach, verbally communicate without having to raise your voice much. Hence they are great for riding. Been using them for almost 5 years now - got used to them quickly & would never ride without them.

Old 09-07-2013, 10:35 AM
oneballz
Road Captain