General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Handlebars with many wires

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2013 | 10:01 AM
jjm64123
|
Stage III
Default Handlebars with many wires

Hey all, as you can see I am new here and new to the Harley world. As I am getting used to the ride I am not getting used to all the wires and cables on the handlebars. I have read a bunch of threads and watched a video o putting the wires into the bars which is pretty simple, but what about the brake and clutch lines? Tha is all for the input, and sorry if this is a common topic. Still new to forums.

Old 07-01-2013 | 10:11 AM
Tapman
Stage IV

I am also new to this whole lifestyle, but I had to change my bars on my train. The bars I had were able to conceal the wiring, but my throttle clutch and brake were all exposed. All I found for an answer was a hidden throttle cable. It looked kinda cool but I wasn't impressed with the way it was designed so I choose not to switch.
I hope you have better luck!!!

Old 07-01-2013 | 10:21 AM
Trak350
Tourer

If your handlebars are made for internal wiring then the wires can be threaded through the handlebars. As far as the clutch, brake lines, and throttle cables, I doubt you could find bars thick enough to get those cables through the bars. Just take some zip ties and secure them a bit. Just be sure to leave some slack for steering.

Old 07-01-2013 | 10:28 AM
ChickinOnaChain
Big Kahuna HDF Member

What's wrong with them showing, unless you're building a show bike? I know it looks cleaner but I just don't see the point.

Old 07-02-2013 | 09:51 AM
jjm64123
|
Stage III