General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tourer vs Softail

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2007, 10:46 PM
PlanoRider
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tourer vs Softail

Let me start by admitting that I am very new to motorcycles and therefore have not ridden any HD motorcycles. But once I get comfortable with my skills, I plan to rent several different models to see what I like. But my ultimate goal is to own an HD. I am currently learning on a Honda Rebel 250. End disclaimer....

Since I have not ridden either of these motorcycles I wanted to ask those that might know a question. I find the HD Fatboy and the Road King the most appealing. But I do see them as somewhat similar in appearance. They are both "bulky" looking bikes which I like.

So given the similarities and the fact that I would want both saddle bags and a windshield, on what basis would one choose the Fatboy over the Road King??? Does the softail handle better? I would think the more comfortable touring suspension would be just as good for any purpose that the Fatboy would be. But with the Fatboy you would have to buy the saddle bags, windshield, and engine guards as extras...... I like the softail look but I see nothing wrong with the Road King look either.

So these are apparently very different bikes so I was wondering if someone could tell me how they differ? I would primarily be doing short rides not much long highway trips.

Old 02-25-2007, 11:39 PM
chopperz71
Road Master
Received 14 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Tourer vs Softail

It sounds like you answered your own question. If you like the looks of both, but will add the extras to the fat boy anyway. I have always had softails in the past. Loved em, but, the suspention on my new bagger is awesome.

Old 02-25-2007, 11:42 PM
Bryan TTM
Banned
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

get a 'Glide

Old 02-26-2007, 12:36 AM
Bubba Zanetti
Seasoned HDF Member