General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Traveling w/ a CPAP

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2013, 04:42 AM
Oxford
Cruiser
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Traveling w/ a CPAP

Recently diagnosed with sleep apnea, I'm relatively new to the CPAP machine. I'm getting used to it, but my wife is sleeping much better!

The machine comes with a decent travel bag, but it's a pain in the **** to travel with, especially when flying. It's pretty big to be carrying on the bike. I'm wondering what some of you might be doing. Do the smaller travel size machines work or should I just go with out?

Old 04-11-2013, 05:43 AM
Roger95
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm in the same boat. I travel without but don't sleep for crap without my machine. I also don't travel too often.

Old 04-11-2013, 05:55 AM
Harleycruiser
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts

I take mine use it if I have electricity while camping.
Read up on how to control apnea it helps when sleeping without it.

Old 04-11-2013, 06:04 AM
sambo42xa
Cruiser

For one of our "bike week" here in NH I pack mine in the car w the rest of our luggage. On a trip to FL a TSA asked first off if it was a CPAP and gave it a quick check. It did come on the plane with me though. I have also gone away for a night or two on the bike and never taken it with me. Other than that, I have never traveled with it packed on the bike.
On another note: My wife said I would stop breathing numerous times and it scared the **** out of her. It is difficult at first using it but give it time and before you know it you'll be sleeping like a baby and so will she. I have been using mine for about 3 yrs and it has helped/worked. Good luck.

Old 04-11-2013, 06:13 AM
RoadKing2438
Road Master